More Than a Friend

“More Than a Friend”

Jeremy Riddle

I’m no longer calling you servants because servants don’t understand what their master is thinking and planning. No, I’ve named you friends because I’ve let you in on everything I’ve heard from the Father.

– John 15:15 (The Message)

In the quiet of my soul

In the stillness I hear your voice call

And I am overwhelmed, and I am lost for words

To describe You


Jesus you’re more than a friend

Jesus you’re more than my heart could ever express

Your love and your grace never fail me

Your merciful touch always heals me

You bring joy to my soul


My heart longs to worship you my King

And I long to bring you a pleasing offering

And I am overwhelmed, and I am lost for words

To describe you

Describing our relationship with God is an ultimately impossible task. How do you describe the perfect love we feel from an all-powerful being…of whom you cannot see? He is our King, He is our savior, He is our friend…and yet He is SO much more. It can be overwhelming if we think about it too hard. So when singing this song, during the quiet parts, sit in silence and soak in the knowledge of your relationship with God. Worship Him for lowering Himself to become a friend (and more) of sinners like us. -Matt Greene

To download the chord chart: More Than A Friend – C.

To purchase the song, go here.

Leave a comment